Home ] Up ] National ] Texas Eyes ] World Wars ] Golden Triangle ] Civil War ] Sabine Pass ] Beaumont ] Port Neches ] To Betsie ] Families ] Nederland ] Frontier Tales TX LA ] Tales SW LA ] Emerald ] [ Milltowns ] Early Sawmills LA TX ] Cotton Bales ] Schooner ] Jefferson County ] Sapphire City ] Sour Lake ] School Review ] Little Things ] Class of 1968 ] Sesquicentennial ]


Volume 1
Volume 2
Volume 3

East Texas Mill Towns & Ghost Towns

A Three Book Series

The signposts along the roads and highways of East Texas read like a roster of sawmills that cut the great virgin pines that once stretched from the Red River to the Gulf Coast: They carried names Haslam, Manning, Bessmay, Aldridge, Steep Creek, Call, Deweyville, Honey Island, and others.

These and a hundred more boom towns prospered in East Texas during lumbering's golden era between 1880s and 1920s. But when the timber played out, many of the sawmills stilled their saws and moved on, leaving behind cutover forests, clusters of clapboard buildings, and remnants of concrete and steel. Some of the sawmills and towns, however, overcame adversity by replacing their forests and diversifying their product lines. They continue to be viable in the pineywoods today, supported by modern sawmills or other wood-using plants, as well as new forms of economic activity.

For years, W. T. Block of Nederland has spent most of his waking hours visiting old sawmill sites, talking with those who lived and worked there and combing through thousands of documents to put together the most comprehensive anthology of sawmill towns and ghost towns ever assembled in East Texas.

The "East Texas Mill Towns and Ghost Towns" series is comprised of three volumes written by W. T. Block and published by the WTBLOCK.ORG on Amazon.

Link to Amazon

Detailed Information

The table of contents and a detailed index for each volume can be viewed on the following links:

Volume 1 - includes Angelina, Chambers, Jefferson, Nacogdoches, Newton, Orange, Polk and Tyler counties.

Volume 2 - includes Hardin, Jasper, Liberty, Montgomery, Sabine, Shelby and Trinity counties.

Volume 3 - includes Cherokee, Harris, Houston, San Augustine, San Jacinto, and Walker counties.

horizontal rule

Copyright 1998-2024 by W. T. Block. All rights reserved.
Unless otherwise indicated, the material published on this site is copyrighted by William T. Block.
Like us on Facebook: